Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold:
Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert
Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold:
Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert

Quick info

Metallguss | versilbert | Format 8 x 5 x 4,8 cm (H/B/T)

incl. tax plus shipping

Product no. IN-806058

Delivery time: Immediately deliverable

Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert
Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold: Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (189...

Detailed description

Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert

We're sorry, but there is no English translation for this item yet. If you are interested in the size or the material of this product, please have a look at the German description as stated below.

Mit dieser Skulptur ist die Debatte um das Werk Charles Darwins in eine geradezu ikonografische Form gegossen. Metallguss mit versilberter Oberfläche. Format 8 x 5 x 4,8 cm (H/B/T).

About Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold

1853-1900

They have their fates – not only the books but also the works of art and artists. The fate of the "Ape with Skull" and its creator Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold couldn’t be more different. Immediately after Rheinhold presented the sculpture at the Great Berlin Art Exhibition in 1893 as his final project for his studies at the Berlin Royal Academy of Fine Arts, the Berlin sculpture foundry Gladenbeck & Sohn offered to produce licensed casts. These went not only to private collectors but also to many international scientific institutions. They can still be admired today: In the Royal College of Surgeons in London, in the Medico-Chirurgical Society in Aberdeen, in the Boston Medical Library and the Department of Zoology at the University of Edinburgh. The most famous location is probably a Russian specimen: It adorned (and still adorns) Vladimir Ilyich Lenin's desk.

While the fame and notoriety of the sculpture grew unceasingly, Rheinhold was almost forgotten after his early death. It was only following an exhibition in Aberdeen in 1989 that serious biographical research began. Most of what has been gathered about Rheinhold since then has only been published in the last 15 years.

Rheinhold was not only a sculptor but also studied philosophy. Moreover, he was a co-founder of a "German Society for Ethical Culture". Perhaps this explains the dazzling richness of meaning of his "Ape". It not only represents a thoroughly humorous commentary on the Darwinism debate but at the same time appeals to the ethical responsibility of all science with the Genesis quote "Eritis sicut deus" ("You will be as God").

Recommendations

Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold:
Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert
Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold:
Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert

Kurzinfo

Metallguss | versilbert | Format 8 x 5 x 4,8 cm (H/B/T)

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Porto

Bestell-Nr. IN-806058

Lieferzeit: Sofort lieferbar

Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert
Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold: Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (189...

Detailbeschreibung

Skulptur "Affe mit Schädel" (1892-93), Version in Metallguss versilbert

Mit dieser Skulptur ist die Debatte um das Werk Charles Darwins in eine geradezu ikonografische Form gegossen. Metallguss mit versilberter Oberfläche. Format 8 x 5 x 4,8 cm (H/B/T).

Über Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold

1853-1900

Sie haben ihre Schicksale - nicht nur die Bücher, auch die Kunstwerke und Künstler. Das des "Affen mit Schädel" und seines Schöpfers Wolfgang Hugo Rheinhold könnte unterschiedlicher kaum sein. Unmittelbar nachdem Rheinhold die Skulptur 1893 auf der Großen Berliner Kunstausstellung als Abschlussarbeit für sein Studium an der Berliner Königlichen Hochschule der bildenden Künste vorstellte, bot die Berliner Bildgießerei Gladenbeck & Sohn lizenzierte Abgüsse an. Diese gingen nicht nur an private Sammler, sondern auch an viele internationale wissenschaftliche Institutionen. Dort sind sie heute noch zu bewundern: Im Royal College of Surgeons in London, in der Medico-Chirurgical Society in Aberdeen, in der Boston Medical Library und im Department of Zoology an der University of Edinburgh. Den berühmtesten Standort hat wohl ein russisches Exemplar: Es zierte (und ziert noch immer) den Schreibtisch Wladimir Iljitsch Lenins.

Während Ruhm und Bekanntheitsgrad der Skulptur unaufhörlich stiegen, geriet Rheinhold nach seinem frühen Tod fast in Vergessenheit. Erst im Anschluss an eine Ausstellung in Aberdeen 1989 kam es zu ernsthafter biografischer Forschung. Das meiste, was man seither über Rheinhold zusammentragen konnte, wurde erst in den letzten 15 Jahren publiziert.

Rheinhold war nicht nur Bildhauer, sondern auch studierter Philosoph und Mitbegründer einer "Deutschen Gesellschaft für ethische Kultur". Vielleicht erklärt das den schillernden Bedeutungsreichtum seines "Affen". Er stellt nicht nur einen durchaus humorigen Kommentar zur Darwinismusdebatte dar, sondern appelliert zugleich mit dem Genesis-Zitat "Eritis sicut deus" ("Ihr werdet sein wie Gott") an die ethische Verantwortung jeglicher Wissenschaft.

Empfehlungen
Bestseller